Marriage License Frequently Asked Questions

The parties may go to any county in Kentucky to get a marriage license as long as both are 18 years of age or older. Marriage licenses may be used in any Kentucky county and cannot be used anywhere but in Kentucky. Both must be present to obtain a license.

The county clerk issues marriage licenses. Marriage licenses are valid for 30 days, including the date it is issued, and after that time it is invalid. Therefore, if the marriage is not solemnized within the 30-day period, the parties must apply for a new license.

Dixie Branch:
4919-F Dixie Highway
Hours: 8:30 to 4:30 T, W, Th, F
Extended hours: Monday 8:30 to 6:30
Professional License:
527 West Jefferson St, Room 100A
Louisville, KY 40202
East Branch:
12312-A Shelbyville Road
Middletown Plaza
Hours: 8:30 to 4:30 T, W, Th, F
Extended hours: Monday 8:30 to 6:30<
Fairdale Branch
10616 Manslick Road
Fairdale Playtorium
Hours: 8:30 to 4:30 M, W, Th, F
Extended hours:Tuesday 8:30 to 6:30
Highview Branch
7813 Beulah Church Road
Beulah Church Shopping Center
Hours: 8:30 to 4:30 T, W, Th, F
Extended hours: Monday 8:30 to 6:30
Jeffersontown Branch:
10420 Watterson Trail,
Bremer Ehrler Bldg.
Hours: 8:30 to 4:30 M, T, W, F
Extended hours: Thursday 8:30 to 6:30
West Branch:
3131 W. Broadway
NIA Center
Hours: 8:30 to 4:30 M, W, Th, F
Extended Hours: Tuesday 8:30 to 6:30
Westport Plaza Branch:
9455 Westport Road,
Westport Plaza Shopping Center
Hours:8:30 to 4:30 M, T, Th, F
Extended hours: Wednesday 8:30 to 6:30

An application for a marriage license must be made in person by both parties at the Jefferson County Clerk’s Office.

In Jefferson County, you may make application in person at any of our seven Branch Locations. Or, you may make an application in person at our Professional License Department, located in Metro Hall, 527 W. Jefferson St., Room 100A.

Identification is required. Acceptable forms of ID in accordance with the statue and KCCA’s recorder’s manual include: Drivers License, current state picture ID or passport.

Both parties must be 18 years old or older.

There is a $35.50 fee for a marriage license.

We accept cash, checks, Visa, MC and Discover.

No, unless you’re under 18.

  1. Marriages between persons who are nearer of kin to each other by blood, than second cousins.
  2. Marriages between first cousins.
  3. Marriages with a person mentally incompetent.
  4. Marriages where one of the parties living, from whom the person marrying has not been divorced.
  5. Marriages not solemnized or contracted in the presence of an authorized person or society.
  6. Common law marriages.
  7. Proxy marriages.
  1. Provide proper identification: Driver’s License & Birth Certificate.
  2. Get theConsent to Marriage Form signed by parent or legal guardian.
  3. Parents or legal guardians must provide two witnesses over the age of 18 whom they have known for 5 years or longer. Persons must be residents of Jefferson County.

Either the male or female, under the age of eighteen, may apply to a district court judge for permission to marry.

  1. Marriages shall be solemnized only by clergy, justices and judges of the Court of Justice; retired justices and judges of the Court of Justice, except those removed for cause or convicted of a felony; county judge/executives; such justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners as the Governor or the county judge/executive authorizes, and certain religious societies.
  2. At least two persons, in addition to the parties and the person solemnizing the marriage, must be present at every marriage.
  3. There are no residency requirements or licensing requirements applicable to ministers or priests who wish to perform marriages in Kentucky.
  4. A minister or priest, all justices and judges of the Court of Justice, justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners may perform marriages anywhere in Kentucky.

Send written notice to:
Jefferson County Clerk’s Office
Professional License Department
527 W. Jefferson St., Room 100A
Louisville, KY 40202

  • Include in the written notice the following information: brides maiden name, grooms name and date of marriage(year) if before June 26, 2015; After June 25, 2015 partner 1 or partner 2 maiden name and date of marriage (year).
  • A certified copy is $6.00 by mail.

A certified copy of a marriage license can also be obtained in person at the Jefferson County Clerk’s Office, Professional License Department. The fee to obtain a certified copy of the marriage license in person is $5. The Professional License Department accepts the following forms of payment: cash, certified check, cashier’s check, money order, personal check, Visa, Discover, AMX or MasterCard.

Afrikaansالعربية简体中文HrvatskiNederlandsEnglishFrançaisDeutschItalianoPortuguêsРусскийEspañolTiếng Việt