TRANSFERS

How to Register KY Titled Vehicles & Trailers

Required paperwork:

  • Original title (no photocopies)
  • Proof of current KY insurance (not needed on trailers)

How to complete a transfer from one Kentucky individual to another Kentucky individual:

Procedures will depend on the ‘age’ of your title. Follow the directions under the heading that best describes the Kentucky title that is being used to process your transfer of ownership.

In processing any transfer proof of Commonwealth of Kentucky insurance is required. If you provide the Clerk’s Office an insurance card as proof of insurance, the card cannot have an Effective/Issue date older than 45 days from the date that it is presented. It is important to note that the effective date of the policy may be different than the effective date of the insurance card. For acceptance the Clerk’s Office is concerned with the date the card was issued, not the policy. This applies to Personal Policies only. Mandatory Insurance Law

7 X 8 Kentucky Title that was printed before 2.28.00 8.5 X 11 Kentucky title that was printed 8.4.2016 or later (Blue border)
Complete the “assignment of title” on the back of your Kentucky title. Complete the seller and buyer section of the Application for Kentucky Certificate of Title/Registration (TC 96-182). The 2000 revision of the TC 96-182 has the Total Consideration Affidavit used for computing usage tax incorporated into the form. The Vehicle Identification Section along with the Seller and Buyer information should be completed and signed by both parties. All signatures must be notarized. Complete the “assignment of title” on the back of your Kentucky title. Complete the seller and buyer section of the Application for Kentucky Certificate of Title/Registration (TC 96-182). Complete the Application for Title/Affidavit of Total Consideration on the back of the title. Note: Complete the seller and buyer section of the Transfer of Title by Owner. Both signatures of the seller and buyer are required to be notarized.

General Information

The seller should sign his/her name on the back of the title exactly as it appears on the front. The seller’s signature must be notarized on the back of the title. In the case of an older title not having a notary field, the seller’s signature would then be notarized on the Application for Title. In cases of joint ownership – ‘or’ require just one signature – ‘and’ ‘and/or’ requires both signatures. The correct odometer reading is required. The Title and VTR may be completed and notarized outside the County Clerk’s Office. In such cases anyone may bring the paperwork in for processing.

If the buyer or seller’s signature is notarized by the County Clerk’s Office, the person must appear in person with a valid picture I.D. A $2.00 notary fee is charged for each signature.

In processing any transfers proof of insurance is required. If you provide the Clerk’s Office an insurance card as proof of insurance, the card cannot have an Effective/Issue date older than 45 days from the date that it is presented. It is important to note that the effective date of the policy may be different than the effective date of the insurance card. For acceptance the Clerk’s Office is concerned with the date the card was issued, not the policy. This applies to Personal Policies only.

The buyer must provide proof of current KY insurance on the vehicle being transferred. Original card must include name, effective date, vehicle identification number (VIN), NAIC number, Commonwealth of Kentucky policy number and expiration date. http://transportation.ky.gov. Once on site type in Mandatory Insurance and that will bring up the 45 day Mandatory Insurance requirements/law. All fees including a $17 transfer fee, notary fees (if applicable), plate fees (if applicable) and sales or usage taxes are due at the time of transfer.

Usage tax is based on 6% of purchase price when using a Total Consideration Affidavit. If not, the vehicle is taxed on 6% of the NADA retail value.

Any delinquent tax on the vehicle being transferred must be paid before transfer. Any delinquent tax on other vehicles owned by the purchaser must be paid prior to transfer. A license plate must be current in order to transfer the vehicle.

Accepted methods of payment are cash, money order, MC, Visa, AMX and Discover or personal check. No out-of-state checks accepted. Valid picture ID is required for acceptance of personal checks.

Motor Boat Transfers require previous owner’s certificate of registration and/or title along with a Motor Boat Transaction Record/TC 96-184 (revised 5/00). To print this form visit the Motor Vehicle Forms page.

If you have any questions regarding this information, you may call our Motor Vehicle Call Center at 502.574.5700.